Home > Madhubun Reading Club > Wuthering Heights
Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights

Author(s) : Emily Bronte

Set in the wild and lonely moors of England, Wuthering Heights is a stormy novel about the lives of Catherine and Heathcliff.

Heathcliff, a strange mixture of savagery, ruthless greed and gentleness, loved Catherine to the point of madness. Catherine’s marriage to Edgar Linton sets him aflame and on the path of revenge.

Read Emily Brontë’s unforgettable love story to find how unearthly forces drive the characters towards their unknown destinies. Is happiness in store for them?

Book Details

Emily Bronte (1818-1848) was the fourth of six children born to Reverend Patrick Bronte, an Irishman

who settled in Haworth, the moorland district of Yorkshire, England. After the death of his wife, he sent his four elder daughters to a boarding school. There, the two eldest died of tuberculosis. Charlotte and Emily who narrowly escaped, came back to resume their roamings about the wild countryside and spend their time writing stories. Charlotte Bronte wrote Jane Eyre. Emily wrote the unforgettable classic, Wuthering Heights in 1847, which shocked nineteenth century English society.

A year later Emily Bronte died, thirty years old. Mathew Arnold, the great poet, said of her: "For passion, vehemence, and grief she has had no equal since Byron." Her book is the story of a fierce and consuming passion—and is true to its title ("wuthering" meaning stormy).

The inmates of Wuthering Heights, the Earnshaws, are strong-willed and passionate; those of Thrushcross Grange, the Lintons, are people of peace and goodness. Into this world comes Heathcliff, as much a victim of, as an instrument for, evil forces. But the novel does not end in vengeance and death; it ends on a note of peace ... as much, finally, for the dead as for those who live on.