product detail

Wuthering Heights

author: Emily Bronte

Supporting Material: Available

ISBN 9780706982497
For Age Group 12 - 14 Years
Pages 112
Weight 0.15 Kg
Binding Paperback
Trim Size 5.5*8.5 inches
List Price 150.00

England, Wuthering Heights is a stormy novel about the lives of Catherine and Heathcliff. Heathcliff, a strange mixture of savagery, ruthless greed and gentleness, loved Catherine to the point of madness. Catherine’s marriage to Edgar Linton sets him aflame and on the path of revenge. Read Emily Brontë’s unforgettable love story to find how unearthly forces drive the characters towards their unknown destinies. Is happiness in store for them?

About Author

Emily Bronte (1818-1848) was the fourth of six children born to Reverend Patrick Bronte, an Irishman

who settled in Haworth, the moorland district of Yorkshire, England. After the death of his wife, he sent his four elder daughters to a boarding school. There, the two eldest died of tuberculosis. Charlotte and Emily who narrowly escaped, came back to resume their roamings about the wild countryside and spend their time writing stories. Charlotte Bronte wrote Jane Eyre. Emily wrote the unforgettable classic, Wuthering Heights in 1847, which shocked nineteenth century English society.

A year later Emily Bronte died, thirty years old. Mathew Arnold, the great poet, said of her: "For passion, vehemence, and grief she has had no equal since Byron." Her book is the story of a fierce and consuming passion—and is true to its title ("wuthering" meaning stormy).

The inmates of Wuthering Heights, the Earnshaws, are strong-willed and passionate; those of Thrushcross Grange, the Lintons, are people of peace and goodness. Into this world comes Heathcliff, as much a victim of, as an instrument for, evil forces. But the novel does not end in vengeance and death; it ends on a note of peace ... as much, finally, for the dead as for those who live on.

About the Series

This series carries an impressive list of well-known classics for children in the age group 7 to 14 years. The aim of the series is to inculcate in children the habit of reading. It offers children an opportunity to enjoy reading stories that form a part of the classics of English Literature crafted by great writers.

  • It includes carefully selected tales, fables, classics and autobiographies adapted and designed to suit young readers and encourage the reading habit in them
  • Fascinating tales of bravery, wit, wisdom, truth, justice and adventure inspire the right values in children, brought alive through illustrations
  • Includes vocabulary-building and comprehension exercises for better appreciation of literature
  • These are ideal for classrooms, libraries and personal collection

Recently viewed

Wuthering Heights

© Copyright 2018 madhubun books. All Right reserved.