product detail

The Scarlet Pimpernel

author: Baroness Orcey

Supporting Material: Available

ISBN 9780706993066
For Age Group 11 - 12 Years
Pages 192
Weight 0.243 Kg
Binding Paperback
Trim Size 5.5*8.5 inches
List Price 165.00

After the revolution in 1789, the aristocrats of France are being captured and sent to the guillotine to their death. Some nobles escape and reach safe shores. Who is this dare-devil leading the aristocrats to safety? The sign of a scarlet pimpernel, or a small red flower is the only clue to the puzzle. Set against the perilous background of the French Revolution, The Scarlet Pimpernel is the story of a daring, elusive Englishman—and how a mission nearly failed…

About Author

Baroness Emmuska Orczy was born in Tarna Eors, Hungary, in 1865. The only child of Baron Felix Orczy, the noted composer and conductor of music, she was educated in Brussels and Paris. When her father was exiled in 1800 from Hungary she, along with her mother, was taken to London where the Baron eked out a living by teaching piano.

While she was studying art in London, she met her future husband, Montagu Barstow. Soon after their wedding, the couple shifted to the haven of artists, Paris, where they lived in the Bohemian Latin Quarter. Barstow did win some acclaim as an artist, and they returned to England in 1898. That year they attended a short story competition, and when the winning story was read out to the assembly, the Baroness remarked to her husband that she could write a better story! Thus was born the literary career of Baroness Orczy.

She became famous with the release of her first book, The Scarlet Pimpernel, in 1905. Sequels to the book, The Elusive Pimpernel (1908) and The Way of the Scarlet Pimpernel (1933) were not as successful. She also wrote detective stories, Lady Molly of Scotland Yard (1910) and Unravelled Knots (1925), but these never attained the success and popularity of The Scarlet Pimpernel. Baroness Orczy died on November 12, 1947.

About the Series

This series carries an impressive list of well-known classics for children in the age group 7 to 14 years. The aim of the series is to inculcate in children the habit of reading. It offers children an opportunity to enjoy reading stories that form a part of the classics of English Literature crafted by great writers.

It includes carefully selected tales, fables, classics and autobiographies adapted and designed to suit young readers and encourage the reading habit in them

Fascinating tales of bravery, wit, wisdom, truth, justice and adventure inspire the right values in children, brought alive through illustrations

Includes vocabulary-building and comprehension exercises for better appreciation of literature
These are ideal for classrooms, libraries and personal collection

Recently viewed

The Scarlet Pimpernel

© Copyright 2020 madhubun books. All Right reserved.